Brought to book

It’s official now: this blog has become a book! It’s been up on Amazon for a week or so and costs £6.99. You can find it here.  It’s available on Kindle too. The title, like the blog, is The Belated Writer: Odd Thoughts on Writing and Life.  It looks like this, and incidentally tells you my name. The cover design is an off-the-peg one from Amazon (a friend of mine has used it for a book of hers, in different colours) but I think it suits this book well.

41yzckydsfl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

I’ve tweaked and formatted the inside and arranged the posts by theme as well as chronologically. Adelina is delighted to have a whole section to herself. The biggest section is, not surprisingly, about Writing, but Life comes into it too. I’ve included the posts about Brexit but haven’t included, or even written, anything about Trump. I may well post something about the situation here, but for the moment it feels too dreadful to think about.

After Brexit I went into a flurry of writing and reading, like a chicken clucking about with all her feathers fluffed. The Trump situation feels more like having swallowed a very large and heavy stone and feeling it sink slowly down and down. Surely there must be other words than ‘No’: no, this can’t have happened, no, I don’t want it to be like this, no, we can’t let things get any worse – as they daily begin to get worse. One of the worst things for me was seeing a picture of the Ku Klux Klan in North Carolina processing down a street in their ghastly garb to celebrate Trump’s victory. All of that hatred is crawling out of the woodwork. And if all I can do is hate the hatred, then I’m buying into it too. Like a lot of people, I’m alternating between anger and despair, when I’m not trying to forget about it altogether.

I won’t say more now. The main point of this post is to show off about the book, in the hope – of course – that some people may actually want to buy it. The ten copies I ordered arrived yesterday and yes, it really does look like a real book. If you’ve read any of this blog before you’ll know what to expect, but to me there’s something very different about reading it in print. Somehow the printed page makes it look more – well – authorial. You can see for yourself, if you want. Or you may just prefer to read it for free here on the blog…

About thebelatedwriter

I'm a baby boomer who has always wanted and tried to write. It was only when I did an MA in Creative Writing in 2010-11 that I dared to take my writing more seriously. I write both poetry and prose and have had a number of poems published. This blog is for my writing friends, my non-writing friends, and anyone else who may be interested in these ruminations.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brought to book

Leave a Reply

