Being the belated writer

When I started this blog a couple of years ago I had just emerged from the wonderful MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University and was still incredulous that here I was, having reached retirement age, at last doing properly what I had wanted and struggled to do for most of my life. ‘Better late than never’ was definitely the motto, but the emphasis was perhaps on the lateness – regret that I hadn’t managed to do it earlier and doubt that I could get anywhere because of the late start. Well, two years on I still haven’t got anywhere with the novel I wrote but I am beginning to publish poems (another magazine, an online magazine supplement and an online anthology since the last blog post) and to feel more like a proper writer. In the online poetry group there are quite a few poets of about my age who seem to be in a similar position, all launching out into this new world with a mixture of trepidation and delight.

What seems important is not the point where I’ve started – much later in life than I would have liked it to be, even though I’ve been writing off and on since my early twenties – but the fact that it’s possible to start at any age and still do one’s best with the time and energy available. When I first set up the blog, a wise friend commented: ‘If it’s happening at the right time it isn’t belated,’ and perhaps it’s good to acknowledge that often things happen when they are ready to happen, and with a logic of their own that we don’t control. Supposing I was fortunate enough to get anything published, I never imagined it would be poetry or that it would happen with relative ease – I’ve had rejections from two magazines but they are outnumbered by the acceptances.

Perhaps the time has come to stop apologising for being a belated writer and just get on with being a writer. Watch this space…

 

About thebelatedwriter

I'm a baby boomer who has always wanted and tried to write. It was only when I did an MA in Creative Writing in 2010-11 that I dared to take my writing more seriously. I write both poetry and prose and have had a number of poems published. This blog is for my writing friends, my non-writing friends, and anyone else who may be interested in these ruminations.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being the belated writer

  1. peterreason says:

    Yes, it is certainly time to stop apologizing. All your friends are delighted with your poetic successes! Px

  2. Thank you. Actually, so am I!

Leave a Reply

