Adelina again

Aardvark

Hello everybody

I thought it was about time I wrote another piece of Blogg. I don’t write them very often as this Blogg doesn’t really belong to me, but it is nice to have a say sometimes. I do hope the Information I have given you so far about Books and Writing has been useful to you. I’ve learnt quite a lot about these things from living beside the bedside of a Writer, even though she hasn’t had many things Published yet. She keeps trying, though, and does a lot of Revision, which I don’t think is the kind that helps people pass their Exams. It seems to be about writing something and then writing it again and again until it gets better – if it does – but sadly even if it gets better and better people may still not want to Publish it and it may still get Rejections.  I don’t know how all these Writers carry on, being Rejected all the time, but seemingly they do even when they don’t get Published. Occasionally one of them does get some money from a Publisher which means that the Book is going to be Published – only it’s Royalty and not ordinary money, so I’m not sure if that’s just as good. I hope it doesn’t mean the Queen takes it all away again.

I expect you will have gathered that I’ve never written a Book. I’m not really clever enough and I don’t quite understand how all the different bits fit together, like the Plot and the Characters and something called the Structure, which I think has to be made out of the right sort of wood if it’s not going to fall down. I don’t write Poems either, though my Husband (who prefers not to be named here) has written some beautiful Poetry. I know it’s real Poetry because it has proper Rhymes and you can scan it, like the bar-codes in the Super-market. I’m very flattered that the Poems he has written have usually been about me – unlike the Poems by The Belated Writer, which are about all sorts of strange things like Vegetable Soup and don’t necessarily Rhyme at all. He has given me permission to show you one of his Poems but wants me to call him A Nonymous (perhaps Mr A Nonymous would be more polite). I’m sure the BW – if she will excuse the abbreviation – will agree that it’s an Ornament to her Blogg. One of her Friends liked it so much that she kept it on the Mantle-piece, which has never happened to any of the BW’s Poetry.

Anyway, here is the Poem. It’s called To Adelina, which I think is a very good Title.

Adelina, when I first met

You and your exquisite nose        (We Aardvarks do have good Noses, I must say.)

I did not believe I could get

So enamoured, but love grows.

Sitting there beside the bedside     

On your own so modestly                          

You don’t know how in my head I’d

Yearned to take you back with me.

Adelina, if you’d throw me

From your diamond eyes a spark

Maybe you could get to know me

Better, my delicious vark.

Adelina, Adelina,

Turn your wondrous nose to me.

On you I could not be keener.     (I was so thrilled when I read this!)

Think how joyful it would be

If among the books and muddle    (This was in the old House, which was a bit small.)

Some quiet corner we could find

Where we might meet in a cuddle

With our noses close entwined.   (Although he doesn’t want me to say who he is, he has                                                               rather a good Nose too.)

There! Isn’t that a wonderful Poem? After he sent it to me it wasn’t long before we were living side by side beside the bedside, and we are still living there Happily Ever After. Which proves, I suppose, that Writing can be a Worth While Thing to do, in spite of all those nasty Rejections which hurt so much. Perhaps it will inspire you to have a try too.

Goodbye for now.

Adelina xx

About thebelatedwriter

I'm a baby boomer who has always wanted and tried to write. It was only when I did an MA in Creative Writing in 2010-11 that I dared to take my writing more seriously. I write both poetry and prose and have had a number of poems published. This blog is for my writing friends, my non-writing friends, and anyone else who may be interested in these ruminations.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

