Love me, love my blog

Although I’ve told myself (and my audience, all two and a half of them) that I just enjoy blogging for its own sake, I’ll be honest and admit it isn’t really enough. Most writers mind whether their work is read or not – even if it is only by their small and faithful audience of friends and family – and most want some sort of response to what they’ve written.

The disconcerting thing about writing a blog is that you never know what kind of response you will get. I suppose that applies to writing in general, but with a blog it’s more immediate. You know straight away that someone ‘likes’ your piece, and it’s also obviously pretty quickly if no-one does. I was disappointed, for instance, that nobody ‘liked’ the story I posted last time, when previous posts had produced at least a few immediate ‘likes’. The story did need more work, but as far as I could judge  it was fairly presentable as it was. Or was it in fact markedly less good than other posts that have been ‘liked’, some of which I haven’t thought very much of at all? Perhaps the process whereby blog posts get read and ‘liked’ is more random than I like to think and depends on little more than the weather, the time of day, the title or what mood someone is in.

Or is it simply that certain things work in a blog and others don’t? I’ve posted a couple of stories previously and the odd poem, but I can’t remember now whether anyone ‘liked’ them or not. Some my most considered and heartfelt posts have had very little response, while others that were written relatively quickly and didn’t seem to be saying very much have had a lot more interest. But then I can’t see in them what I can’t see, just as I can’t see the back of my own head or the way I stand when I’m not looking in a mirror.

So how seriously do I take the favourable comments or the baffling silence? Like most writers’ egos, mine revels in a good massage from time to time. But equally I welcome feedback that isn’t all ‘positive’ but will help me to improve. I certainly get that from my lovely writing group, most of whom are far better writers than I could ever be. I wouldn’t seriously expect the same standard of interest and perspicacity from blog readers, most of whom will – like me – scroll through a post and only stop to read it properly if it takes their fancy. Unless it’s by a friend, of course, in which case I will take more time with it. I don’t necessarily ‘like’ or comment, though, unless something in particular jumps out at me.

Which all goes to show that no response is just that, and the reasons for it are unknowable. And there’s still that craven bit of me that wants to beg, “Oh please read it, please tell me you’ve read it and liked it.” In other words, please love me – the me that shows up in the blog. I’m not twisting your arm, honestly. But whether you like the blog or are totally indifferent to it, I’ll still go on talking at people in it and believing that somewhere out in cyberspace there are people who might actually enjoy it.

About thebelatedwriter

I'm a baby boomer who has always wanted and tried to write. It was only when I did an MA in Creative Writing in 2010-11 that I dared to take my writing more seriously. I write both poetry and prose and have had a number of poems published. This blog is for my writing friends, my non-writing friends, and anyone else who may be interested in these ruminations.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Love me, love my blog

  1. lucysixsmith says:

    I’ve tried to ‘like’ this but Firefox had a small trantrum about it for some reason. Perhaps that might explain things…

    In all seriousness, I think there must be a certain amount of randomness in the responses one gets. For example, am I writing a reply now because I’m more interested in this post than previous ones? No, certainly not. Or because it seems polite given the content of the post? Perhaps there’s a small element of that. Or because I’ve just been writing a Facebook message to another friend, so I’m in a mood for casual message-writing, and I know that once I stop footling on the Internet I’ve got to actually do some work and I’m delaying that moment? Definitely a large element of that!! At other times, I sit at the computer and read things but somehow fail to develop the momentum to respond in any way. Laziness and tiredness would partly explain this, especially when what I’m reading comes from a serious writer, whose work, if circumstances permitted, I would wish to honour with the fullest and most careful consideration I could muster.

    Let it be said, in case of any future self-doubt, that I always enjoy reading your blog, so when you see you’ve had a view from Russia, it’s probably me and you’ll know it represents an interested reader.

Leave a Reply

